Football Innovation Award

football innovation award

The Football Innovation Award will be presented for the first time at the FUTURE OF FOOTBALL BUSINESS-Conference 2019. The FIA is divided in two parts. The first part is called "Innovative Startup" and is a startup award. The second part is the category "Innovative Club" where - as the name implies - innovative projects done by clubs are awarded.

The Jury

The jury for the FIAs constists of international experts and includes members from clubs, leagues and companies, like Timm Jäger (Advisor of the Board, Eintracht Frankfurt) or Patrick Lenhart (Head of Marketing, Austrian tipico Bundesliga).

Innovative Startup

In the Startup Award, a jury selects the five most exciting companies from the applicants. The finalists can present themselves in short pitches on the main stage during the award ceremony at the conference. Those five finalists are also getting VIP tickets for the conference.

The winner will receive various media services from FOOTBALL BUSINESS INSIDE and partners as well as the opportunity for an exclusive pitch at the Austrian tipico Bundesliga. The complete package will be announced in May.


The application for startups is now possible until July 31st. The application costs 150 Euro plus VAT and includes one ticket for the conference. If accommodation is required, we are happy to support you with special conditions at our partner hotels.

Innovative Club

We are also awarding innovative projects done by clubs. The jury announces a shortlist of five finalists each. One club and one sponsor will then be announced as winner on stage at the FUTURE OF FOOTBALL BUSINESS-Conference.


The application phase for clubs starts on the 1st of June 2019. The application costs 550 Euro plus VAT and includes one VIP ticket for the conference including one night in our partner hotel.


  • Now: Start of the application phase for "Innovative Startup"
  • June 1st: Start of the application phase for "Innovative Club"
  • July 31st: End of the application phase
  • August 12th: Announcement of the five finalists in each category
  • September 12th: Football Innovation Award-Ceremony at the conference

Dirk Schluenz

Head of Commercial, FC St. Pauli

Timm Jäger

Advisor to the Executive Board, Eintracht Frankfurt

Patrick Lenhart

Head of Marketing, Austrian Bundesliga